SATISFACTION, SIGNIFICANCE, & SUCCESS

There are three things that most everyone on planet earth is seeking – satisfaction, significance, and success.

I want satisfaction in order to say: “I’m okay with what I have.””  I am content with my life and I have a sense of peace about what I have and where I am.

I want significance in order to say: “I’m okay with who I am.””  I am somebody who matters to other people and I matter to this world.

I want success in order to say: “I’m okay with what I do.”  I am doing what I was created to do, and I am using and utilizing my abilities, talents, and gifts in meaningful and measurable ways.

For when I feel dissatisfied, my life becomes a matter of comparison. I see what other people have and want it. I see what I have and don’t want it. I’m envious and I’m bitter. I’m mostly mumbling through life. I’m shallow.

When I feel insignificant, I become very critical of both others and myself. I don’t like me and I don’t like them; so most of the time I am miserable to be around. I know my own  imperfections, but point out the imperfections in others instead. I’m lonely and I’m angry. I’m mostly grumbling through life. I’m small.

And when I feel unsuccessful my life is full of confusion. I don’t like what I’m doing, but don’t know what direction to go or where to look. I’m depressed and I’m aimless. I’m mostly stumbling through life. I’m weak.

John 14:6a reads, Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth, and the life.”

Jesus is the way in determining true satisfaction:

Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.                                                       

Philippians 4: 11-13 (The Message)

Jesus is the truth in discovering true significance :

For everything of God gets expressed in Him, so you can see and hear Him clearly. You don’t need a telescope, a microscope, or a horoscope to realize the fullness of Christ, and the emptiness of the universe without Him. When you come to Him, that fullness comes together for you, too. His power extends over everything.

Colossians 2:9-10 (The Message)

Jesus is the life in defining true success :

I am the Vine, you are the branches. When you’re joined with Me and I with you, the relation intimate and organic, the harvest is sure to be abundant. Separated, you can’t produce a thing. Anyone who separates from Me is deadwood, gathered up and thrown on the bonfire.

John 15:5-6 (The Message)

May you find full satisfaction; May you have a total sense of significance; and May you become a complete success…in Christ Jesus

Leave a Reply

